Powered by Blogger.

Thursday, January 6, 2011

Former Name Of United Arab Emirates

The former name for the United Arab Emirates (UAE) was the Trucial States or the Emirates of Oman.
      Both these names were widely used before the emirates came together to form the UAE or the United Arab Emirates as we know today. The Trucial States were administered by the British, and these states had granted the rights to security and sovereign affairs to the British in the 19th century by way of treaties and accords.With the post World War Two realignment of world states, the Trucial States were given autonomy and six of the emirates of what were known as the Trucial States came together to form the UAE. The seventh emirate, Ras-Al-Khaimah joined the union in the late 1970s. These states were also known as “Emirates of Oman” because of the fact that these states were under the rule of the Sultanate of Oman.
The reason these states were known as Trucial States is because of the fact that in the truce following the Ottoman wars, these states were formed because of a treaty between the Arab rulers and the British. Hence, the name Trucial states stuck and these emirates were collectively known by that name till they organized themselves into the UAE in the 1970s. The term Trucial States was given by the British and not used by the Arabs for a long time.
In these years, it was common for the Arabs to refer them as the Emirates, as there are seven states that form the present-day United Arab Emirates. These states are Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Al Fujairah, Sharjah, Dubai, Ra's al Khaymah and Umm al Qaywayn.


Post a Comment

Modified by Blogger Tutorial

UAE ARCHIVE © Indian Monsters. Blogger Styles |